Moviefied NYC: Will Smith, Nepotism, and After Earth: Why That’s a Bad Combination

Willy

I wrote a piece over at Moviefied NYC about the potential problem I see with the recent turn Jaden Smith’s career has taken. Basically, I think his father needs to back the hell off and let his son make it on his own. Hit the jump for an excerpt and link to the full article.

I know that there are a lot of showbiz families, but this is the most overt example of meritless familial inclusion in recent memory. On the one hand, I acknowledge the fact that Smith and his wife, Jada Pinkett Smith, produced Jaden’s remake of The Karate Kid. In hindsight, that turned out really well for the then 12-year-old, as the classic was re-imagined in a very real and entertaining way. So, fair enough, his famous parents got him a gig opposite Jackie Chan. It worked, but the rest of his career should be based on talent and drive, not how influential his father can be on a production.

Read the rest of Will Smith, Nepotism, and After Earth: Why That’s a Bad Combination at Moviefied NYC

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Action, Pointless Self-Indulgence, Sci-Fi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Moviefied NYC: Will Smith, Nepotism, and After Earth: Why That’s a Bad Combination

  1. theipc says:

    Very nice – I don’t think Will Smith would have made a good Django. I am not particularly a fan of Foxx but Smith? Nope.

  2. Teddy says:

    I’m so happy he turned down Django. I’m not a Will Smith fan at all. If I had to endure his squinting and lip pouting for nearly three hours…

    And his son showed a lot of promise in Karate Kid. But Will Smith needs to get off his dick.

  3. Szever says:

    I miss the over-the-top Will Smith action movies. Agree, he wouldn’t have worked as Django. Django, you’re a slave now. “Aw, HELL no.”

    • Sir Phobos says:

      I miss SOME of his over-the-top stuff. But I can’t stand him when he’s in full-on Will Smith sarcasm mode. He’s just annoying as shit at that point. See: I, Robot.

  4. Beer Movie says:

    Nice article man. I’ve seen After Earth and it is utterly terrible. As in the runaway leader in my worst film of the year list. I think Jaden Smith has a really annoying screen presence and even more concerning, Will Smith himself is totally terrible in it. All his natural charisma seems to have gotten lost somewhere over the last 5 years or so. Totally with you on the outright nepotism too. Terrible.

Comments are closed.