Jim Carrey “cannot support that level of violence” in Kick-Ass 2

This is pretty disappointing. Carrey’s Funny or Die sketch was awesome and hilarious, but that’s because it was sticking it to people who can’t make the connection between guns and real-world violence. His coming out against a movie he willingly signed up for is, in my opinion, ridiculous. The level of violence in a fictional story such as Kick-Ass 2 has nothing – nothing – to do with real-world violence. What about all the gun violence that takes place every single day around the world? Is that not just as bad? Why did a single incident change his mind? When people have such selective consciences, I have to wonder if they don’t realize how hypocritical they’re really being. Why was it okay to be in that movie before this specific shooting? Weren’t there already examples upon examples upon examples of why guns are bad for societies up to that point? Am I seriously supposed to believe that this one instance changed the game? I just don’t get it. Kick Ass 2 is about as far removed from reality as any movie can possibly get, so for him to “make a stand” at this point is beyond any kind of rationality I understand. I’m all for opposing real-world gun violence; I just have the good sense not to let that zeal bleed through to works of total fiction. I’m going to watch and enjoy the carnage of Kick-Ass 2, and in doing so, I won’t be condoning anything of the sort in reality. I wish Jim Carrey could make that distinction.

[edit/update] The thought just occurred to me that while Carrey has no problem publicly disowning Kick-Ass 2, he doesn’t appear to have anything against getting paid for his work in it. If this is really an ethical issue for him, he should announce the donation of his paycheck to some kind of anti-gun violence charity. That doesn’t change the bizarreness of him regretting playing a character who hates using guns, but it would at least put his convictions in a better light.

Quickflix

Jim Carrey has publicly distanced himself from his upcoming movie Kick-Ass 2, Tweeting his inability to “support that level of violence” following the shooting at the Sandy Hook elementary school.

Carrey

“I did Kickass a month b4 Sandy Hook and now in all good conscience I cannot support that level of violence… my apologies to others involve with the film. I am not ashamed of it but recent events have caused a change in my heart.”

His change of heart comes mere months before the picture’s release.

The irony is that Carrey was only cast as a result of his adoration for the original flick.

Comic book creator Mark Millar responded to Carrey’s Tweets on his blog.

“I respect both his politics and his opinion, but I’m baffled by this sudden announcement as nothing seen in this picture wasn’t in the screenplay eighteen months ago. Yes, the body-count is very high, but…

View original post 99 more words

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Action, Whatever and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jim Carrey “cannot support that level of violence” in Kick-Ass 2

  1. Agreed.

    To me, there’s also the hypocrisy of just tweeting shit vs actually doing something. When you’re a multi-millionaire, one would think you’d have the clout to actually effect some changes. So instead of just tweeting about how much violence bothers you, Jim, why don’t you pour some money into a worthy cause?

    • Sir Phobos says:

      Yep, that’s true. I think a more rational response from him could have been him condemning real-world violence and donating to a cause, like you said, but also making the distinction between fact and fantasy on places like Twitter. It’s just counter-productive to do say what he said.

  2. Smash says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I could see his point if he was not wanting to be in a film where his character mass murders a bunch of children because he found Sandy Hook so upsetting. That seems like it would have been a reasonable conclusion to make. But clearly that’s not the kind of character he played in Kick-Ass 2, so he should stop being an ass. Like Fogs said, put some money into causes on your own time, humbly, instead of spending your time tweeting useless bullshit.

    • Sir Phobos says:

      I also hate when studios delete scenes and/or push back movie release dates because of violence that happens in reality. Gangster Squad, for example. I find it hilarious (in the bad way) that we do utterly useless things to appear sensitive to violence, but where it really counts with legislation, we fail miserably as a society. That’s the kind of shit that baffles me.

      • Smash says:

        Good point, I remember hearing that about Gangster Squad. Let’s not actually DO anything helpful, let’s just try and be as sensitive and PC as possible with our pop culture. And don’t forget to blame video games, that’s an important part of this process too.

      • Sir Phobos says:

        If I start talking about blaming real violence on video games, I’ll be here alllllllllllll night. It’s god damn stupid.

Comments are closed.