Moviefied NYC – Pacific Rim (2013)

pacific-rim-gifThat snazzy gif up there heralds my return from a long vacation, and with it also comes my review of Pacific Rim for MoviefiedNYC. Sorry for being gone for two weeks, but once my 4th of July weekend was over, I decided it actually wasn’t. Anyways, as usual, hit the jump for an excerpt and a link to the rest of the review.

The generic nature of Pacific Rim knocks it down several pegs in my eyes. While I appreciate Charlie Day and Burn Gorman’s antics, as well as some of the down-time inside Jaeger headquarters (including a totally useless-but-fun martial arts demonstration), it isn’t enough for me to give the whole movie a pass. This is one I don’t think I’ll be watching again…

That’s not to say there aren’t fun things about it here and there, but I just wasn’t very impressed by much of anything on-screen. There’s tons of spectacle without a lot to propel it, and when the spectacle itself isn’t very, well, spectacular, there’s not much left to consider praise-worthy or even interesting.

Read the rest of Pacific Rim at Moviefied NYC

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Action, Sci-Fi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moviefied NYC – Pacific Rim (2013)

  1. table9mutant says:

    Good review. Yes, it’s certainly no Pan’s Labyrinth… 😉 Fun but shallow!

Comments are closed.