MoviefiedNYC: The Conjuring (2013)

ConjuringOkay, so I’m still working on those other reviews I mentioned in my last post. What can I say; it’s hard being a husband, father, and blogger. But last weekend, I saw The Conjuring and wrote it up for MoviefiedNYC. James Wan is one of my favorite directors, and if you’re like me, you need to see his latest. Trust me. Am I the only one who finds it a little strange that he’s doing the next Fast & Furious movie? WTF? Anyways, hit the jump once again for an excerpt and link to the full review.

There are a small number of directors without a blemish on their record, and James Wan is one of them.  Just look at his output: Saw, Dead Silence, Death Sentence, and Insidious were all made within a six-year period, and I can now confidently add a new entry to the unbroken chain of awesome Wan leaves in his wake.  The Conjuring is his masterwork, and as of right now, it stands as one of the best horror movies I’ve seen in quite some time. In no small feat, it takes an often-used premise and breathes new life into it through technical mastery and a gift for simply scaring the shit out of me.

Read the rest of The Conjuring at MoviefiedNYC

If you’re still on the fence about going to see it, then let me assure you: it’s better than that other ghost movie with Lili Taylor.

That one is just no good. No good at all.

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Horror and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to MoviefiedNYC: The Conjuring (2013)

  1. melissa nacinovich says:

    We went to the movies a few days ago and I thought about seeing this one but chickened out and saw WWZ instead. I wanted to sleep for the next few nights and I have a feeling this one would have freaked me out and kept me awake!!! lol I’m such a chicken.

    • Sir Phobos says:

      Oh, man. Yea, it would have kept you up if really good horror movies tend to do that to you. Especially once the shit hits the fan. WWZ really surprised me, though. I thought it was going to be a turd, but it turned out pretty alright! What did you think of it?

      • melissa nacinovich says:

        I was surprised by it as well. Usually all the hype means it’s gonna suck, WWZ really wasn’t bad at all.

      • Sir Phobos says:

        Nice, glad you like it. They’ve already green-lit a sequel, which…I dunno about that. We’ll see.

  2. theipc says:

    I took the day off today and slept in (I just got up) YAWN * CRICK * Scratches butt*

    I was gonna go see this today but there’s only afternoon showings unless I leave RIGHT NOW which won’t happen so I’ll probably miss this in the theaters… : (

  3. Will have to come back next week to read that as we are seeing and reviewing it this weekend.

  4. You had your kid? Congrats, how is that going? getting any zzzzzzz’s ?

    • Sir Phobos says:

      Oh yea, she’s 5 months old now! She actually sleeps through the night and has been doing that pretty much since she was born. She gets fussy like once at night for a bottle, which I keep right next to me, so I just hold it in her mouth and keep sleeping. She sleeps with me in the bed. And yes, I know, everyone keeps telling me I’d better change that soon or she’ll always want to sleep in our bed. The problem is I don’t want to give her up, dammit.

  5. Dan says:

    James Wan has talent but he’s hit and miss. And I’m not just talking about hit and miss between films…he even manages to do it during the movie! Insidious was hit, hit, hit for an hour…then MISS, MISS, MISS in its final third.

Comments are closed.