MoviefiedNYC: The Wolverine (2013)

WolverineGifAnother big theatrical release brings another review at MoviefiedNYC, this time for James Mangold’s The Wolverine. Is it better than the last one? Oh, God, yes. Yes yes yes yes yes. It takes a big, steamy dump all over X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Click through for an excerpt on why that is, and for the link to the full review.

What a difference four years and a new director makes. In 2009, X-Men Origins: Wolverine hit the big screen and brought with it a stench that I’m still trying to wash out of my clothes. Seriously; that is one bad movie. Awful, sometimes unfinished-looking CGI, abundant goofiness, and a tired narrative all bogged it down and made it as disappointing an X-Men movie as I could have ever imagined. Last weekend, however, I had the privilege of witnessing the mulligan that is The Wolverine, and I can say that the do-over is successful in cleansing the palate and allowing everyone to just forget that Logan ever had a previous solo outing.

Mangold’s deft hand is immediately appreciated, as the unfolding plot feels much more in line with what mature audiences gravitate toward. By that, I mean Ryan Reynolds is not blocking bullets with figure eight sword-spinning. Believe me, that is a giant improvement already. Instead, the action is fast and brutal and has actual heft behind it. In particular, a late sequence against an opponent who calls Logan a monster for what his healing abilities affords him is a highlight.

Read the rest of The Wolverine at MoviefiedNYC

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Action and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MoviefiedNYC: The Wolverine (2013)

  1. I thought it was entertaining though I wished they had fleshed out more of Will Yun Lee’s character. More of their chemistry/history would have made the movie better. Otherwise, I enjoyed it!

    • Sir Phobos says:

      For me, it would have taken too much away from Wolverine’s stuff, but I can see someone wanting a bit more there. Glad you liked it, it’s a vast improvement!

Comments are closed.