Abandoned Mine Can Totally Just Stay Abandoned

AbandonedMine

I’m not going to go into as much detail as I’m used to, since I don’t have too much to say about this one. It’s a horror movie, and it exists, whether I care about it or not.

Some movies know how to balance character interactions and scares, but Abandoned Mine isn’t one of those movies. Just having a mine or cave location doesn’t grant your ideas anything above and beyond the norm, you know. For a stuck-in-a-cave-and-can’t-get-out flick, I’d rather watch Sanctum, which is the most praise I’ve given James Cameron in a while. Then, of course, there’s The Descent, which needs no introduction. I’ve even seen The Cave, and it was better than I expected. Anyways, there are apparently a decent amount of cave movies, but Abandoned Mine just kind of coasts on good casting and a pretty typical horror setup.

Meh. There’s not a hell of a lot to get upset or happy about. The ghosts – when they finally decide to show up – are lame, and the twist doesn’t do quite as much as they probably hoped it would.

And although Alexa Vega stars in this and does a good job, I couldn’t help but notice she’s not wearing the same thing she has on in Machete Kills. Just saying.

VegaNow that I found a way to post that picture and keep it relevant, my job is done. Thanks, Abandoned Mine!

About Sir Phobos

Male, 30-something, hates stupid things and likes non-stupid things
This entry was posted in Horror and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.